Open House for Culture - The Würth Prize of JMD goes to Michael Kaufmann

Essen. Michael Kaufmann, Director of Philharmonie Essen, has been awarded the Würth Prize of the Jeunesses Musicales Germany (JMD). At a concert event on November 7, Ulrich Wüster, Secretary General of JMD, and Robert Friedmann, Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Würth Group, presented the award which includes prize money of EUR 5,000 to Mr. Kaufmann.

In his encomium, composer Mauricio Kagel put his finger on it: Within the few years since the formation of the philharmonic Michael Kaufmann’s program has succeeded in appealing to a growing audience without abandoning quality demands. The Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Würth Group Robert Friedmann acknowledged Mr. Kaufmann’s involvement in youth development which, among other things, finds expression in a young audience. In his view, entrepreneurial responsibility includes supporting such cultural initiatives. In his answer, Mr. Kaufmann expressed his belief that music has the power to change people for the better and called it "basic food" to culturally educate young people.

Since 1991, the Würth Prize of JMD – supported by the Family Trusts founded by Reinhold and Carmen Würth – has been awarded to personalities, ensembles or projects of German musical life that are role models in giving music new impetus. In the past, the prize was awarded to artists such as Claudio Abbado, Phil Glass or Tabea Zimmermann, to ensembles such as Junge Deutsche Philharmonie, Ensemble Resonanz or the Venezuelan young philharmonic orchestra as well as to projects such as the education programme of Berliner Philharmoniker.

Winners of the Würth Prize of the Jeunesses Musicales Germany between 1991 and 2006

1991 Dennis Russell Davies
1992 Arcis Quintett1993 Philip Glass
1994 Nicaragua Project „Casa des los tres Mundos“
1995 Children’s choirs of the “Brundibár“ Project
1996 Yakov Kreizberg
1997 Junge Deutsche Philharmonie
1998 Henry W. Meyer
1999 Tabea Zimmermann
2000 National Children’s Orchestra of Venezuela
2001 Claudio Abbado
2002 Ensemble Resonanz
2003 Theo Geißler
2004 Education Programme of Berliner Philharmoniker
2005 Philharmonia of the Nations
2006 Michael Kaufmann