At the top of the pyramid

Federal Youth Orchestra awarded Würth Prize

The Würth Prize of Jeunesses Musicales Deutschland (JMD), endowed with prize money of EUR 20,000, was awarded to the Federal Youth Orchestra in Stuttgart on Monday, 10 January 2011. In his laudation, Prof. Michael Kaufmann, director of the Kurt-Weill Festival in Dessau, stressed the role model function of the orchestra as the "showpiece for the promotion of up-and-coming musicians on the highest level".

On the occasion of the 60th anniversary of JMD, the musical youth association honored the youngest German top-class orchestra as a representative of hundreds of young orchestras living of the musical ambition and skills of young people. According to the jury, the Federal Youth Orchestra constitutes the "top of a unique pyramid of youth orchestras” which allow young people to “develop their musical skills as well as their social competences through playing in an orchestra”. The Federal Youth Orchestra is more than a talent scout agency for up-and-coming musicians, "it also conveys values to young people such as enthusiasm, love of quality, authentic dedication and individual responsibility in the context of a joint team effort", explains the Vice President of the JMD Barbara Haack, who presented the award together with the prize’s initiator, Prof. Dr. h. c. mult. Reinhold Würth, to Prof. Martin Maria Krüger, President of the German Music Council as the sponsoring body of the orchestra. “Together, the young musicians create an incredible body of sound that creates enthusiasm for new music with incredible precision," Reinhold Würth remarked.

The Würth Prize of Jeunesses Musicales Deutschland is one of the most exclusive awards in the German musical scene. It is awarded to artists, ensembles and projects that exemplarily meet the values and fulfill the objectives of JMD. Since 1991, personalities such as the composer Philip Glass, the conductors Claudio Abbado and Gustavo Dudamel, the music publisher Theo Geißler, ensembles including Junge Deutsche Philharmonie, Artemis Quartett or the education program of Berliner Philharmoniker have received the award.